father_and_son

Be a disciple for your family

The Gospel passage today in the Lectionary picks up from yesterday where Jesus healed a man who was ill for 38 years.  Jesus was in danger because he healed this man on the sabbath:

“For this reason they tried all the more to kill him,
because he not only broke the sabbath
but he also called God his own father, making himself equal to God.”

The remainder of this passage describes the explanation of Jesus to the Jews and why he is the Son of God.  As I read this passage from the Gospel According to John, I was drawn to this passage from John 5:19-20a:

Jesus answered and said to them,
“Amen, amen, I say to you, the Son cannot do anything on his own,
but only what he sees the Father doing;
for what he does, the Son will do also.
For the Father loves the Son
and shows him everything that he himself does.

I thought of my own role as a father to my children.  When I became a father, I struggled to understand my responsibility to be a model of a Christian disciple for my kids.  By the time my son was about 3, I realized that I lacked certain pillars of fatherhood.  I was not reading scripture each day at this time – which would have been a tremendous help.

The Painting entitled
The Painting entitled "Jesus Blessing the Children" (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

At that time, my friend Dave told me about Steve Wood.  He and his wife Karen created the Family Life Center and Dave recommended I read Steve’s book, Legacy:  A Father’s Guide to Raising Godly Children.  I still refer to it and I recommend it as a faithful Christian resource for parenting.

What became apparent to me then in reading the book (and now in my experiences as a father) is that my children only do what they see me do.  If I leave my shoes on the floor, so do they.  If I curse, so do they.  I did not realize that our relationship is a study of my behavior – how I act in all situations.

Like most parents, I get wrapped up in my world and forget what Jesus said “For where two or three are gathered together in my name, there am I in the midst of them.”  (Matthew 18:20).  This means that Jesus is among my family and if I love Jesus the way I claim to, then I can show that love in my example for my family.

I learned two scripture verses from That Man is You that help me in those moments when I need to remember my vocation as a father:

“Lord, let me see your face.”   (Song of Songs 2:14)
“Speak, for your servant is listening.” (1 Samuel 3:10)

I also learned to ask them for forgiveness and I expect them to ask me for forgiveness.

These simple actions create happiness and peace in our home.

Pray tonight that we parents recognize the importance of our choices.  We have the opportunity to show our personal testimony as faithful disciples of Jesus Christ.  Let us not become arrogant, lazy or despondent in our duty to raise our children in love as God loves us.

Please pray for Mary Wakat.  She is the grandmother of the wife of Ed, who writes a blog Ministry in the Marketplace.  She is not well and it looks like God will call her home soon.

You might also like these related posts from cinhosa:

You don't have to be a saint to have faith
4 ways to think like God
Be like John
Question Authority

Today we remember Saint Enda


Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 thoughts on “Be a disciple for your family”

  1. It makes me happy to know that there are parents like you who have the wisdom to know that your choices and actions can be reflected in your children’s choices and actions. It resembles how we should reflect Jesus’s actions.

    It can be noted that not only what a parent does a child tends to follow, but a child can also help direct the actions of a parents. The cycle can go both ways.

    Great post, I enjoy reading your reflections.

    God Bless

    1. Joshua,

      I totally agree that my kids can help me be accountable. In fact, I think family members should be accountable to one another. Thank you for the kind words and thanks be to God that he speaks to us through scripture.

  2. Thank you for praying for my grandma. As I wrote on Tuesday, soon she will trade her old bum hip for dancing shoes. And she will trade her old bum heart for her eternal soul that beats to the sound of angels singing, “Holy, Holy, Holy is the Lord God Almighty. Who was and Is and Is to come.

Join the conversation

