Section of topographical map of Nablus area

I lost my map on purpose

Section of topographical map of Nablus area (W...
Section of topographical map of Nablus area (West Bank) with contour lines at 100-meter intervals) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I think it was in Boy Scouts where I learned the importance of planning.  When we prepared for camping trips, we created checklists for the gear and meal plans for the food.  I learned how to read a map and orient with a compass it so that I could use it to find my way.  I was comforted by these plans because I felt prepared and safe on camping trips.

Over the years, I relied too much on the plans inside my head to attempt to generate security for my life.  When I felt lost, rather than turning toward God, I would create a plan.  So, I can relate to the concern expressed by Thomas to Jesus in today’s reading from the Gospel of Saint John:

Thomas said to him,
“Master, we do not know where you are going;
how can we know the way?”

The verses today is the first part of the discourse from the Last Supper where Jesus provided comfort:

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Do not let your hearts be troubled.
You have faith in God; have faith also in me.

Where I am going you know the way.”

As I have learned to trust God and discern his plan for me, I no longer feel necessary to create elaborate plans for my life.  I learned the importance of living in this moment, rather than for tomorrow.  Much to my chagrin, I have embraced the concept that “life is a journey” – an expression that I used to find trite and annoying.

Through my faith that Jesus Christ is the son of God, I know that I am not alone on my journey and that my own map is useless because I do know the way:

Jesus said to him, “I am the way and the truth and the life.
No one comes to the Father except through me.”

The sense of wonder and freedom I feel in my trust of Jesus is a miracle.  Thanks be to God!

Enjoy these related articles:

Enhanced by Zemanta