monk

Multiplying Jesus

A monk sits in contemplation

The past month has been an interesting challenge to my daily devotions.  A confluence of changes – the end of Lent and my scheduled weekly discussions with my brother-in-Christ Charlie, the end of a long tenure with my old employer, the beginning of a new and interesting role as a consultant, and the continued health challenges faced by my wife.

All of these simultaneous changes affected my focus on God and although I have been praying and often signing Matthew West’s song Strong Enough to myself, it occurred to me last night that I have been getting sleepy in my faith during this transition period.    I began to turn to my lifelong habit of self-reliance, instead of placing my faith in God.

This morning, I awoke to read a lesson about the Holy Spirit from John 16:5-11;

“But I tell you the truth, it is better for you that I go.
For if I do not go, the Advocate will not come to you.
But if I go, I will send him to you.”

I think about the time prior to the descent of the Holy Spirit when Jesus was in one physical place.  When people needed the healing power of Jesus, they needed to be with him physically and they needed to believe in him.

In today’s reading, the disciples were filled with grief when Jesus told them that he is leaving.  They did not yet understand that the Holy Spirit (the Advocate) will be with each of them all of the time.  The Holy Spirit becomes their source of their courage as they continue their lives without Jesus Christ and risk death and imprisonment to preach his Gospel.

We are fortunate as Christians that the Holy Spirit is also with each of us, all of the time. We may stop noticing him in our spiritual slumber.  We may allow the din of noise in our world to drown out his voice.  But, he is with us.  Thanks be to God for the strength and support I feel from him.

Have a blessed day!

Enjoy these related articles: