flower

The keys to handling the truth

Forgiveness lesson from flowers
Forgiveness lesson from flowers (Photo credit: juliejordanscott via flickr)

Bearing the truth of my sinfulness is a life-long endeavor.  Between my own ego-driven decisions and the risks of temptation, it can be easy for me to fall into the trap of self-deception.  I remind myself of my attempts at goodness and forget our Original Sin.

In today’s Gospel reading:  Jesus said to his disciples:

“I have much more to tell you, but you cannot bear it now.”

Prior to and even after my conversion to Catholicism, I carried an overburden of guilt and shame of my sins.  The gift of morality is that I feel bad when I have wronged someone.  Unfortunately, I would not let that bad feeling go and it could grow into its own monster of negative emotions.  It becomes unhealthy for me.

When I look back I think my overburden of guilt developed because I did not specifically ask to be forgiven by the person I wronged.

I accept that I will continue to make mistakes, poor choices, and commit sins.  I also must accept and practice asking for forgiveness.  From this, I experience the gift of freedom I receive when I ask for forgiveness.  It is the freedom that I can let go of my guilt for my sin.

The key for me is to listen to the Holy Spirit because as Jesus described in today’s reading:

But when he comes, the Spirit of truth,
he will guide you to all truth.
He will not speak on his own,
but he will speak what he hears

What I described above as the gift of morality surely is the Spirit of truth.  I may try to ignore him as he guides me in all truth, but he is there in my thoughts – gently reminding me that I need to ask to be forgiven.

Is there someone you wronged and have not asked them to forgive you?  Maybe it is time to hear the Spirit of truth within you and take action.

Enjoy these related articles: