Sunrise

Sunday Snippets #11

Join me and other Catholic bloggers at RAnn’s Place for Sunday Snippets – a blog carnival where we share our posts from the previous week.  Read the carnival post and all of this week’s roundups.

Listen to Fr. Robert Barron’s Sermon 593 : Seated at the Right Hand of the Father : The Ascension of the Lord.

This week’s summary:

The keys to handling the truth

POSTED BY  ⋅ MAY 16, 2012 ⋅ 1 COMMENT

Bearing the truth of my sinfulness is a life-long endeavor.  Between my own ego-driven decisions and the risks of temptation, it can be easy for me to fall into the trap of self-deception.  I remind myself of my attempts at goodness and forget our Original Sin. In today’s Gospel reading:  Jesus said to his disciples: … Continue reading »

Multiplying Jesus

POSTED BY  ⋅ MAY 15, 2012 ⋅ 6 COMMENTS

The past month has been an interesting challenge to my daily devotions.  A confluence of changes – the end of Lent and my scheduled weekly discussions with my brother-in-Christ Charlie, the end of a long tenure with my old employer, the beginning of a new and interesting role as a consultant, and the continued health … Continue reading »

What are your hardships as a Christian?

POSTED BY  ⋅ MAY 8, 2012 ⋅ 1 COMMENT

As I read the first reading from the Acts of the Apostles (14:19-29) this morning, I thought about Saint Paul: “In those days, some Jews from Antioch and Iconium arrived and won over the crowds. They stoned Paul and dragged him out of the city, supposing that he was dead. But when the disciples gathered … Continue reading »

Here’s why we give the sign of peace

POSTED BY  ⋅ MAY 7, 2012 ⋅ 2 COMMENTS

Prior to RCIA, I did not understand the Mass and considered it to be a “bunch of rituals.”  It requires effort to understand the 5 major sections of the Mass (Introductory Rites, Liturgy of the Word, Liturgy of the Eucharist, Communion Rite and Concluding Rite). After I actually  learned the details of the Mass and the meaning … Continue reading »